top of page
  • Writer's pictureReed Middleton

Sola.

Updated: Feb 6, 2023

One of my written priorities for this academic year: visit at least five new countries. One of my unwritten priorities for life: travel by myself. Progress is being made in both areas.

After my family headed home to Easten Oregon I still had one week left before classes started up for spring term. I decided it was a good time to take another trip. A couple of countries had been on my mind for the winter season, so I did a little research on flights and things to do, bought some plane tickets and took off to...


Switzerland.

 

The Itinerary:

 

The Story:


Day 1: Geneva

I arrived to Geneva around 1:00 PM on Wednesday afternoon. Excited to get into the fresh air and see some mountains (which I learn time and time again are foundational to my life), I got to the bus stop as quick as possible and headed into the city. First stop: Visit the UN & Broken Chair.

Then to St. Pierre Cathedral. There are a few magical moments from this trip that will be stuck in my head for a while, if not forever. This was one of them. I got a bit lost in my directions, so the last part of the walk I guessed (not a hard task given the towering nature of the structure). On my last turn to reach the cathedral, the bells started ringing, as if announcing my arrival. Welcoming me to the city. Marking the beginning of my journey through the country. I stopped. Stared. Listened. Smiled.

Eventually, I walked in to see the inside and climb the towers. What views! I didn't need to tour the city. I could see it all from above. After a couple hours and chatting with some other visitors, I went back down the stairs, wondering every minute or so whether I was going to slip down the stairs that had been worn down by hundreds of years and millions of footsteps or if my overstuffed backpack would get me stuck in one of the tiny doorways. Not to worry, I made it down. Thanks for the concern.

Grabbed a takeaway sandwich at a shop nearby. Then headed towards the water. Found a place to sit and ate a late lunch. The scene made a convincing argument that the best dining table is not a table at all. Just a park bench.

Passed by the flower clock in Jardín Anglais and visited the MEG (Musée d'ethnographie de Genève). The video below is from a room in the museum that showed what the some of the instruments on display sounded like.

A friend reminded me to take pictures of myself, so I made an effort to do it every day. Looking back at them, most were reflections, which just feels like a fitting word to describle this trip. Reflective.

Day 1 - Elevator mirror

Day 2: Montreux & Bern

I got up and left Geneva around 10 AM, stopping first for some groceries on the way to the train station.

Breakfast on the train.

Swapped trains in Lausanne and arrived in Montreux to visit Chateau de Chillon and Freddie Mercury (& his little pals).

Got back on the train to Bern, arrived around 3 PM and checked into my hostel (which turned out to be right down the hill from Parliament). Walked around old town, by the cathedral and Einsteinhaus, then happened upon the Uruguayan embassy and a cellar bar where I stopped to people watch for a bit. Ended the day watching the kind of sunset that gives you goose bumps from the Cathedral Platform.

Day 2 Reflections - Another elevator mirror.

Day 3: Zermatt (the Matterhorn)

This was a day I was so looking forward to on this trip. Started my day with a big breakfast at the hostel and a walk next to and above the clearest water I have ever seen. By 10 AM I was on a train to Zermatt to spend a day in the mountains and snow. The train ride there could only be described as picturesque...

...and the only word I can think of that comes close to describing the ride on the Gornergrat cogwheel train up to see the Matterhorn is unbelievable.

I ate lunch, made snow angels, took an excessive amount of photos, watched the skiiers & snowboarders. The weather was beautiful and everyone in sight had a smile on their face. People all around but with the expanse of sky and mountains around us it never felt crowded. Around 5:30 PM I reluctantly got on the train back to Bern.


Video feature for this one because I really did not feel l like the still photos portrayed the full story.

Day 3 Reflections - from a train window.

Day 4: Interlaken & Luzern

I started off to Interlaken around 10 AM the next day with intentions to do a bit of walking around the town but not much besides that. It looked feasible to make my plan as I went, so I did. Arrived at the train station, checked some of my stuff in a locker to lighten the load, found a trail and started walking.

Magic moment #2: I found a place to sit and eat lunch (park benches -2, actual tables - 0). It had been a little cloudy but I could still see the magnificent mountain ranges...at least, I thought. Again, the church bells started chiming twelve. A cue to take a look around. I swear the bells said "HEY! Look over there to your right! Got a surprise for ya!" All of the sudden, a small section of clouds started to slide away and reveal a snow peaked summit. For the next few minutes the bells rang and the sky drew back it's curtain of clouds to reveal the spectacular performance of mountain tops cutting through the air. The snow on top softened their sharp edges and the sun threw its rays all around to make sure each bit had its chance to shine.

The show continued while I hiked along:

I finished up my time in Interlaken watching paragliders (and regretting not signing up to do it myself).


Took the Panorama train to Luzern for a stunning ride through the vibrantly green and blue countryside.

Arrived in Luzern with time to check in, head back to downtown for a dinner of fondue and glittering evening views of the city.

Day 4 Reflections - from a bathroom mirror.

Day 5: Rigi

Originally planned for this day to be spent in Zurich but I got a taste of the nature and threw that plan out the window. I found the next closest mountain - Rigi (Queen of the Mountains) - and planned to spend my day there. I woke up at 7 AM to get all packed up, eat, and get to my first form of transport for the day. I hopped aboard a boat to cross Lake Luzern, arrived at the dock and got straight on a train to Rigi Kulm (summit). About halfway up we hit snow. There are all kinds of walking paths that you can take thorugh the mountain once you get up to the top, so I started making my way through those. Another day of admiring beauty. At the end of the day I took a cable car down the mountain, got back on the boat, arrived in Luzern in time to buy some chocolate, visit a church and catch a train to Zurich for my final night.

Arrived in Zurich, grocery shopped, headed to the hostel where I made dinner and had good conversation with the other guests.

Day 5 Reflections - more elevators.

Day 6: Zurich & home

Woke up pretty early again in hopes of seeing a bit of Zurich before leaving. The morning consisted of a wander through old town, another chocolate purchase, eating that chocolate for breakfast in front of the Landesmuseum, and admiring the Swiss transport system one last time on the way to the airport. Arrived to Heathrow, got home, ate dinner, ad went to the library...back to class the following day.

 

I mentioned reflection earlier. This trip surprisingly caused me to do a lot of it. It gave a space for my thoughts to spread out and get creative. Just the kind of energy boost I needed before jumping into this new term.


Look out for another post soon. Thanks for stopping by! <3 Reed





bottom of page